Why sex?

sex [seks]n (plural sexes) 1.  male or female gender: either of the two reproductive categories, male or female, of animals and plants  2.  intercourse: sexual intercourse  3.  sexual behaviour: sexual activity or behaviour leading to it  4.  genitals: the genitals (literary)  5.  biology reproductive characteristics: the set of characteristics that determine whether the reproductive role of an animal or plant is male or female   

As always, human behaviour fascinates me and makes me wonder why things are the way they are. The ramblings therefore continues and this time I wonder why sex is so important in today’s society, mainly around young people.

 

My last entry, a couple of weeks ago, was about a girl that I said I would keep away from due to certain reasons. I couldn’t. I don’t fall for people that often but this was one of those occasions. For once, believe it or not, I was brave and told the girl in question how I really felt for her and things has from there on turned out alright. She’s an Amazian, a combination of the words amazing and Asian, so I can‘t complain one bit. Enough of the bitter old Henrik for a while now.

 

That introduction is the start of my thoughts. Why is sex so important to people?
When meeting someone you like physical contact is often a part of what you do together. It could be anything from hugs and simple kisses to full on intercourse. Take your pick.
The first couple of nights I spent at her place I can honestly and proudly say we didn’t have sex. She does however live in a student corridor with six other people and all of them kept asking her if she did have sex or just saying things that made it sound like we must’ve had sex and that it isn’t normal not to have sex. We also had the occasional banging on the door with sounds added as they walked by her room when we were there. When coming back home after spending the night at her place the first question I got from my housemates was “Did you fuck her?/Did you have sex?”. Why do people make that assumption that you must’ve had sex just because you’ve slept at a girls place. Maybe there’s something wrong with me for not thinking about sex as much as other people but it just doesn’t bother me weather or not I did have sex with this girl the first night I slept there.

 

Why do people ask about sex instead of the actual person or if I had a good time or not, with or without sex. I don’t really know why. I know I don’t ask people about sex since I have no interest in other peoples sex life. If they’d  like to share something with me I will listen and if the company and situation is right I might share things with them as well. I do like to talk about everything but it’s often in a deeper context than just talking about the actual sex, it’s more likely to be a part of a longer discussion regarding relationships and just sharing tips and tricks between each other.

So why do her housemates keep talking about sex?

One of the theories I got is the age difference. It’s just a matter of a couple of years but that is still enough. 18 compared to 23 can be quite a lot. Another theory is the cultural difference since all the people I’ve noticed talking and asking about the sex are English and back home in Sweden none of my friends are that straightforward asking me about sex.
Why is it that everyone is so focused about having sex with other people that and that they can’t just have a laugh with whoever they are with. Be it for one night or a long relationship.

 

Spending time with some of my male friends the language can be quite graphic. Talking about their last escapades and bragging about fucking some girl in the ass. Why does sex has to be so serious, why does it have to be a sport about lasting long or doing certain things as if they are icrucial to having a healthy relationship and being happy. I must say I do enjoy having sex like a lot of people in this world but I’m nowhere close to taking it that seriously or feeling pressure accomplishing specific things in the bedroom. I’m doing it for the fun and for the fact of it being the most intimate thing you can do with someone you like. Something you share on a equal level and that both of you can enjoy in an relaxed atmosphere.

A couple of years ago I really cared about all the stories I heard and thought that you had to last for hours to be good in bed, you had to fuck someone in the ass as if to tick off a “to do list” and have a 12 inch penis. Exaggerating is really common when it comes to stories about sex and I‘ve realised that it‘s not at all about any of those things. At least not for me. Of course people are different and appreciate different things but at the moment there seems to be more about quantity than quality. Having as many partners as you can in a short period of time and then have as much sex as you possibly can. I’ve never been a fan of the old one night stand, for me its about feeling something for the person you’re engaging in sexual activity with more than just adding another girl to your list.

Another thing that I think about is why there is so much pressure to loose your virginity. A lot of kids are having sex and I know people who had sex when they were 13. Teenage pregnancy and STD’s among  14 year olds makes me wonder what the world has come to.
I was 16 when I had sex for the first time and I didn’t have clue about what I was doing. Putting on a condom for the first time and finding your way around the unexplored female anatomy is a quest in itself. My performance was not ideal in any way but it was nice to get it out of the way and not having to worry about it. I don’t regret anything but I could easily have waited a couple of years.

So where does all this pressure and stories about sex come from? Shall we blame the media or is it just a normal evolution due to the kind of society we live in. It’s a shame people can’t enjoy it for what it is and that they can’t have a more relaxed attitude towards sex.

You may now interpret this text in any way you’d like. Am I writing this because I have a really small penis or is it because I’m shit in bed and therefore I’m blaming society for making sex into such a big deal. Or maybe both. Whatever you might think I don’t mind but please take a minute to think about what I’ve written and ponder about your attitude towards sex and if that’s an healthy one. I hope it is and that you’re all happy, maybe I’m just imagining things…


Kommentarer
Postat av: Cissi

Först och främst, hurra för att du inte är bitter längre! Jag sa ju att det skulle ordna sig.

Jag antar att du tänker lika mycket på sex som alla andra, men man gör det nog på olika sätt. Det klart att det är viktigt och roligt att prata om sex och börjar man skramla ihop ett par älgar på balkongen blir det nästan som en blockering. Då är det viktigt att veta om nån annan "fått till det" så man vet hur ynklig man själv är. Det handlar nog lite om att stämma av ifall man är onormal själv. Har alla andra sex? Det kanske också handlar om nån sorts koll för sitt eget självförtroende, kan hon så borde ju jag kunna.

Jag tycker däremot inte heller att det är viktigast och jag tycker att det är mycket mer relevant ifall man frågar om det varit trevlig eller så. Men jag brukar ju t.ex. fråga dig om du hånglat med en tjej. Då gör jag det för att jag är nyfiken förstås och för att kunna avgöra lite om hur långt du vill ta det. För även om jag fattar att man kan "hångla runt" och inte lägger nån värdering i det så vet jag att du inte gör det med vem som helst.

En sak som jag tycker är viktig är dock att man kan prata om sex. Både med sin partner men också med kompisar. Det ska inte behöva vara skämmigt eller kännas tabu. Det kan ju vara viktigt och bra att prata om det. Men inte så där överdrivet detaljerat eller på ett skrytigt och kryddat sätt. Du vet...

Fast om man undrar hur dvärgar, gamlingar, enögda eller amputerade gör (!) så är det ju bra att man kan ta reda på det. Eller inte...

Vet inte om du tänkt på det men jag slogs i alla fall av den tanken när jag läste det du skrivit. Det tycks ju bra att ha haft sex med många och att man gjort "coola" saker. Att kvantitet ibland också är bättre än kvalitet. Men dom flesta vill nog ändå ha bra sex. Kvalitet är lyx! Fast det som slog mig är att man ibland kan ha dåligt, eller i alla fall mindre bra sex, med en person man verkligen gillar och då gör det ingenting. För även om sex i sig är bra och viktigt så överskuggas ju det av själva relationen. Min sanning är i alla fall den att sex tillsammans med någon man är kär i är bättre än att ha sex med "vem som helst". Så det så!

Lycka till med kärleken!

2006-10-25 @ 23:35:13
Postat av: Martin

now that's a really interesting question Henrik..I think there's a few different answers to it.
I think it's mostly about curiosity, and especially if you know you the "victim" is.. it's "interesting " to know if she likes it in the ass, if she swallows or whatever.

It is most defently connected with age and experience as well. If I would be 10 years younger it would be very intersting to know if you banged this girl, now it's not interesting. Like you said, if you want to share, I would listen.

But mostly I blame society. It's too much focus around sex and sexuality these days! Sometimes I find that scary..especially when I think about my own children, and especially my daughter.

I hope we can give them enough strengh and support to understand that sex is something you do with someone you really really love, cause you give a piece of yourself to that person, and not just any person you might have a thing for.

I think it's good you want to get to know her deeply before you ´give her a piece of yourself, but ofcourse I wouldn't blame you if you spanked that ass the first night, cause we're all only deadly sinners after all

2006-11-06 @ 15:04:01
URL: http://www.mkpd.se
Postat av: Martin

Mortal sinners, that is.

asså, ska man skriva på svenska eller engelska? hahaha

2006-11-06 @ 15:08:58
URL: http://www.mkpd.se
Postat av: Me

I do get your point there Martin and I do sometimes have these "guy talks" but I just find a lot of people being obsessed with it all and I just get sick of it after a while. I can understand your worry as a parent even thou it?s another 16 years before you really have to worry, could however be 12 years from what I?ve heard from some people. I didn?t even know what sex was when I was 13, hmm?well well.
Either language works fine. for me it's just a matter of my English friends being able to read what I?ve written.

2006-11-06 @ 18:54:19
URL: http://trahn.blogg.se
Postat av: Martin

and what about svenglish? will det wörk as wäll?

2006-11-07 @ 15:46:21
URL: http://www.mkpd.se
Postat av: Vikkan

Jag håller med dig om att sexakrobatik är upphaussat och visst kan man skylla detta på media, men inte helt. Vi har ett visst ansvar själva. Mycket har med mognad att göra. Jag tror att de som skryter gör det för att dölja sin egen osäkerhet i frågan. Ju mer skryt desto osäkrare människa, som vill verka världsvan. En mogen och tillitsfull människa behöver inte göra det. Såvida det inte, som på min arbetsplats, är en jargong som man använder för att blanda bort korten. Dvs. inte låta någon av arbetskamraterna kunna ana vad jag gillar och gör i sängen och därför svamlar om det mest avvikande man kan tänka sig.

Jag tror också att man många gånger vill framhålla sin duglighet och attraktionsförmåga på det motsatta könet genom att skrädera om sina sexuella erövringar och prestationer.

Apropå prestationer, kan jag bara säga att det tog mig väldigt många år innan jag började förstå mig på det här med att ha sex för min egen njutnings skull. Under väldigt många och långa år ville jag ge killen en riktig upplevelse. Jag ville vara ett knull som han mindes för livet. Så jag anammade poser, läten, tekniker osv som jag sett i porrfilmer(gjorda av män för män). Problemet var bara att jag alltid kände mig tom och ledsen efteråt. Jag gav utan att få tillbaka och byggde upp någon form av självförakt, som jag ständigt bekräftade genom upprepa mig.

Jag är glad att jag har blivit äldre och vis av mina erfarenheter. Sex är idag roligt och skönt. Men för att det ska kunna vara just det måste jag känna mig TRYGG med min partner och kunna komunicera med honom. Både våga ge och ta.

Ett one-night-stand skulle jag inte vilja ha. Det är alltid uselt sex med någon som man aldrig skulle ha valt i nyktert tillstånd. För det är nog en företeelse som oftats tilldrar sig i mycket berusat tillstånd. Omdömeslöst slöseri av den egna peronen som man ångrar grymt.Jag får nästan ångest när jag tänker på det. HUVVA!!!

Mycket av sexhetsen tror jag bleknar med åren. De som pratar/frågar om sex har kanske inte förstått vad sann intimitet handlar om, eller så är det just det de har och därför frågar för att kolla hur seriös du är med flickan i fråga. Någon man verkligen bryr sig om vill man inte lämna ut till skränande kompisar. Det vill man hålla rent.

Kram till dig lillebror från Vikkan

2006-12-27 @ 01:41:29

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0